Day 1 – Let’s Get Started

It was a dark and early start this morning, getting up before the sun, and just my luck I’m waking up with a head cold. Seriously? Is this not going to be challenge enough?

My eventual goal is to be able to get up in the mornings and get my workout in before the house wakes up so that I’m ready to start a day invested in my time with them. Eating the moment I roll out of bed and then running around getting ready for work is pretty hard on my tummy, so I’ve decided to start my days with a big cool glass of lemon water to jump start the metabolism and wake me up!

After one glass of lemon water and a nice hot shower I was feeling pretty good about starting my day. I made my shake, grabbed my lunch and my snacks from the fridge, and I was off to work.

I was very happy to discover that I was not hungry once throughout the day. Lunch did leave me a little unsatisfied so I may add in a little more substance in future meals plans but I was definitely not longing for food, and when fries were bought for our lunch group I am happy to say I didn’t partake, and happier to say I didn’t even want to. Looks like my resolve is still intact.

At least it was until tonight’s workout. Holy smoke! Tonight was Total Body Cardio and it was probably one of the most intense 30 minute exercise sessions I have ever done. I would love to tell you that I nailed it and I felt great and I’m even more pumped. But I’d be lying. I survived it, and then spent 20 minutes lying on the floor contemplating if I could still achieve all my goals without doing the workouts. How on earth was I going to get through these every day?

And that is when my 2 year old (who did the exercises with me and nailed it) came to lie down beside me and told me, “I love exercising with you mommy” As corny as it may be that one little statement reminded me that I’m doing this in part to be a better mom for her. So I picked my butt up off the floor, cuddled with her for a half hour before her bedtime, and then rewarded myself with a long hot shower.

So here I am, enjoying my yogurt parfait, resolve firmly restored, and ready to get my ass kicked again tomorrow.

BlogImage_01

Meal Plan for Today:

Breakfast:
Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Shakeology Shake
Snack:
Apples with cinnamon, and almonds
Lunch:
Tossed Salad with Chicken and Balsamic Vinaigrette
Snack:
Carrots, Cottage Cheese, Crackers
Dinner:
Salmon with Wild Rice and Green Beans
Snack:
Yogurt Parfait

Today’s Wins:

– Not being hungry
– My daughter saying “I love exercising with you mommy”
– Choosing to carry on another day

Leave a comment