Day 11 – Feeling… Normal

Ok so it’s day 11, and I have to admit that writing this blog is getting harder and harder. Why? Because this journey is getting easier and easier. When I started out I truly thought that for 21 days I would have so many struggles and challenges and so much to journal about, and that I would need to look back at my successful days to push through the hard ones. But I feel like every day has been a successful day, and while there are moments that are challenging, I’m at a point where I feel so good, and balanced that pushing through isn’t as hard as I thought.

Do I have food cravings? Yes, absolutely I do. Is it easy for me to say no to them? No, absolutely not but I know eating those foods will make me feel worse not better and then those cravings disappear as soon as they arrive. I also heard once that if you aren’t hungry enough to eat an apple then you aren’t really that hungry, and I’m trying to live by that.

Is it hard to get up every morning an hour earlier and push myself through a grueling half hour workout and then still continue on my day? Yes it sure is, and let me tell you that sleeping in this morning was like a slice of heaven (and so just as hard to get out of bed for work). BUT when that workout is done, the payoff lasts all day and on days when I move my workouts to the evening I notice how much I miss that day long workout buzz. That being said I was surprised that I didn’t feel like an evening workout was a chore. It was a very pleasant surprise because in the past that feeling is usually what ended my workout habits and I am feeling even more confident in myself knowing that feeling is gone.

I still have a lot to learn about eating though. My diet is pretty basic and I know from other people’s experience that I can still eat clean and healthy without having to be bland and boring. So I’m working on that. In fact tonight I took some chicken, pounded it thin, sprinkled some shredded cheddar on the surface and then rolled it up and pinned with toothpicks. I then sprinkled some garlic, onion, pepper, and (here was the key) smoked paprika on top. Sooooooo good!!! Next time I might try adding some broccoli and mushrooms, and maybe even a little white wine in the bottom of the pan and see how that goes. (bake @ 350 for 30 minutes)

So that’s my journey right now. Every day feels normal, and I don’t feel like my life revolves around my 21 day plan. And that’s what I was looking for. I just thought it would take the whole 21 days to get there.

If any of you reading this are thinking that this may be a journey you yourself want to take, I encourage you to take it with me. My coach is encouraging me to do some coaching myself, and as I said before this was a lifestyle change for me. So if you are interested send me a message in whatever way is comfortable for you and ten days from now as I continue my journey we can talk about how you can join me. This is not a sales pitch. This is merely an offer extended for you to have someone to talk to about your goals and needs and how I think some of my experiences could help you get there. Maybe you do the 21 day fix, maybe you don’t. Maybe you commit to some time for yourself daily, weekly, monthly and the two of us come up with what that time will mean.

It’s all up to you!

Leave a Reply

